Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Sights for a Shotgun

Old 11-28-2006, 07:14 PM
Typical Buck

Default Sights for a Shotgun

I'm new to this Ohio brush busting type of hunting. . .I'm thinking I need a shotgun now just to get meat on the table. What scope should I be looking at. Truthfully, I have only seen one shootable deer more than 50 yards away. Most are about 15 yards away and the shots would come lightning fast. Like faster than I seem to be able to get my pistol on them!

What optic works well without costing a fortune? I'm thinking an EOTech circle dot would be best, but at $350, that is almost double the shotgun price! BTW. . .I'm thinking about buying an older well used 870 and building into my ideal brush buster.
Old 11-29-2006, 06:30 PM

Default RE: Sights for a Shotgun

A Bushnell trophy 1.75-4X power with a circle reticle would be a great start. They run about $100 depending on which model you get. They have a wide field of view, easily acquire the target, and are quite clear for the price. Another great slug gun scope for the price is the Leupold Heavy reticle VX-1 ($180-190). Of course, with the hunting you are describing, standard iron sights would still be the best.

KEJ
Old 11-29-2006, 11:31 PM
Nontypical Buck

Some kind of firesight or neon/glow type of sight. A scope is going to be the hardest to get a bead on an animal at 15 yards with, so something open sights and with a good visual.
Old 11-30-2006, 05:42 AM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: nksmfamjp
Truthfully, I have only seen one shootable deer more than 50 yards away. Most are about 15 yards away and the shots would come lightning fast. Like faster than I seem to be able to get my pistol on them!
A brass bead.