Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Mausers: need some help

Old 10-06-2006, 06:05 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Mausers: need some help

Ok, I ran into a deal that I couldn't pass up on a bunch of guns. Anyhow there are 3 mausers actioned rifles in the bunch and I have no idea what they may be, or what they may be worth. All are in excellent condition with scopes, slings, and hard cases. One looks to be rebarreled and has the stamp of 6mm on the barrell, so I have to assume it is.
2 say Deutche Waffen Und Munitions, fabriken berlin Model 1908...no calibers and I have no idea what they are or how to figure it out. One has a BIG hole, like probably 8mm, the other isa little smaller than my .280 but no idea. Mabybe a .270 or 6.5? One looks exactly like the two DWMs but no writing, only stamps and symbols.

I am NOT a gun expert by any means, and don't really even know anyone that is familiar with Mausers. Any advice on how to find out what I have, and what they are worth? I will probably sell 2 of them and keep one. They are all really nice though. I also got some other really nice guns in the deal, 8 in all. The guy that sold them to me doesn't know either...he bought the bunch (10 at that time) from a guy hard up for money who was selling his deceased fathers gun collection. Wow.

Anyhow, any advice as to who to talk to or how to go about finding out what I have and the values would be appreciated!

Thanks!
-Mike
Old 10-06-2006, 11:41 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Mausers: need some help

Pictures?
Or at least some descriptions of the crests, if any, or distinguishing items like sights, bayonet lugs,etc. ....
Describe any markings and/or symbols, like a diamond shape with letters inside ...
Old 10-07-2006, 03:14 AM