Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

20" Barrel Too Short????

Old 10-16-2005, 06:37 PM

Default 20" Barrel Too Short????

I'm pretty new to the subject of guns and hunting. Today I went to my local sporting good stores to buy my first shotgun combo. I wanted a smoothbore barrel and a rifled barrel. I was originally planning on purchasing a Winchester 1300 Black Shadow combo, this and a red dot scope would cost me almost $500. I then ran across a package deal of a Remington 870 Express combo with scope for also $500. The scope is a $100 variable power Bushnell. The combo comes with a 23" rifled barrel, and a 20" "turkey barrel." At first I thought that this 20" barrel would be too short, but the salesman reassured me and said that it would work fine and has no real affect. Another concern I had was that it was too cheap of a scope, and that I should just go with a red dot. He seemed almost hurt that I didn't trust him, and once again assured me that the scope would do the job fine.

I trusted his reassurance and ended up purchasing the Remington combo. I've been looking at some past posts and am somewhat worried about my decision. I've heard of variable power scopes being ruined by slug guns, and now I know that 18" is the legal limit for shot guns. As of now, I'll be primarily hunting squirrels, rabbits, grouse, pheasants, and of course deer with the shotgun.

Did I make a mistake? I think I would be able to return the gun if I did so soon. Thanks for the help and guidance.
Old 10-17-2005, 01:40 AM

Default RE: 20" Barrel Too Short????

Turkey barrels are notoriously short because of the ease of swinging the gun around while sitting or in confined areas. A shorter barrel can allow the pattern to open up a bit with the same choke as a longer barrel, but this can easily be comensated for by using a tighter choke. Just pattern your shotgun to find out which chokes will be best suited for your needs.