Community
Firearm Review Forum Rifles, shotguns, blackpowder, pistols, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new firearms here.

Advice on rifle

Old 11-29-2006, 09:05 AM

Default Advice on rifle

I am new to rifle hunting. Next season I will be going deer hunting for the first time. I have been bird hunting with my shotguns before but I have never owned or shot a rifle. I want to spend up to $500 for a gun and scope. I was looking at the Remington 700 SPS or a Savage package. Can you give me some advice on which why I should go, or any other rifles that would be good? Also if I were to get the Remington SPS I would need a scope, since I have never used a scope before can any one advise me on a good but cheaper one?
Old 11-29-2006, 09:47 AM
GCW

Default RE: Advice on rifle

rgmuckli,you have 2 choices here,there are alot of great rifles out these days for under 500.00 limite.The first thing I will say is not to skimp on your scope.I believe that a good scope is money well spent on any firearm.As for a rifle the savages are great guns for the money ,But the scopes that come on the package guns are real low end.You might also want to look at the Stevens 200 or the Mossberg ATR100.Both of these guns can be had for under 300.00 dollars and both shot well for budget rifles.That would give you another 200.00 dollars to spend on a scope and scope mounts.I have personal gotten to were I like fixed 4x scopes on my Rifles for most of my hunting needs.
Old 11-29-2006, 10:28 AM

I would get a Savage rifle and spend the rest of your money on a Nikon scope. This setup should shoot very well....You do your part (practice) and you will be set for deer.
Old 11-29-2006, 11:33 AM
Giant Nontypical