Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

My First Ten Point

Old 08-19-2024, 09:14 AM
Fork Horn

Default My First Ten Point

Crossbow, not deer. LOL

I've been hunting with a crossbow since 2009 which was the first year they were legal for everyone in PA's archery deer seasons. My last compound was a Mathews Switchback which I still have but haven't shot in years. My 1st X-bow was a Scorpyd RDT 125 which I also still have. It still shoots fine but is extremely heavy at ~11 lbs with a scope, sling, etc. Up until this year it has been my backup bow and it came in handy in 2022 when I had an issue with the string on my 2nd X-bow which is also a Scorpyd. That one is a Deathstalker 420 and I've had it since 2019. It is a couple of pounds lighter than the RDT 125 and quite a bit more compact at 9" axle-to-axle when cocked. But, like I said, I had a problem with the string a couple of years ago. The serving seems to get a lot of wear from the trigger latch posts, especially on the left side. The fact it doesn't have a crank cocker only makes that situation worse because of the amount of time it can be in the fully cocked position and the fact that the only way to de-cock it is to shoot it. Not good and at this point I actually have more faith in the old RDT 125.