Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

I need some help

Old 11-26-2007, 06:22 PM
Spike

Default I need some help

hello to all

i am new to this part of the forum but due to a recent dislocatoin of my shoulder and shoulder surgery scheduled for around christmas bow hunting has ended for me.............i love bow hunting and due plan on going back to it once my shoulder is fully recovered but to be able to stay in the woods i am going to have to purchase a crossbow............I hunt whitetail deer and would want a cross bow that shoots good to fifty yards with the possibile shots maybe further? i dunno how much arrow speed matters or the draw weight but with shoulder surgery i would want something pretty easy to pull......i would want a crossbow that is somewhat quite and a good durable bow.........thanks to all of the input you all are the experts and as you can see i dont know to much but have an avid love for hunting that i want to continue to have

thanks again
Old 11-26-2007, 06:50 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: I need some help

If your hunting deer, IN MY OPINION there is no crossbow that is good to 50 yards with possible further shots. A crossbow has the effective range as a compound, 30 - 35 yards for deer. The time it takes for the arrow to travel out to 50 yards a deer can easily move over half it's body length, putting the arrow into a non lethal shot, or better yet, a complete miss. Even if a deer does not react to the shot (sound of bow or arrow), the normal actions of a deer (walking, turning ect) can move the deer far enough for a bad hit.

Todays crossbows can hit accurate well out there, past what you are looking for, but these are on a fixed target. You have no control of the actions of the deer and if it moves after you release the arrow. If you are determined to shoot deer at 50 yards, archery is not the tool for you.
Old 11-26-2007, 06:51 PM