Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

WHICH is your favorite 125 grain broadhead???

Old 09-04-2006, 08:51 PM
Spike

Default WHICH is your favorite 125 grain broadhead???

folks,

i'm a rank beginner at CROSSbows.

myowner's manual from Barnett recommends "a quality arrow of at least 16 inches & not over 20 inches" (2117 or heavier) AND "a broadhead or mechanical point of 125 grains."

so, what 's your opinion of THE hunting point for deer/black bear/feral hogs of 125 grains???

free dixie,sw
Old 09-05-2006, 05:25 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: WHICH is your favorite 125 grain broadhead???

If i told you any brand i'd be lying, i don't shoot B'Heads over 100gr.[][:-]
Old 09-05-2006, 07:30 AM
Nontypical Buck

stand watie: this is just my opinion, but I know the compounds all need heavier arrows than the recurves. I think Barnett is the only company that uses 22" arrows, and fairly heavy ones at that. I would think they advise the 125 gr b-heads in order to keep the FOC up where it needs to be. i do know Excal advises a heavier arrow than their "stock" 350 gr for game bigger and tougher than deer. Since I hunt hogs and bear also, I went w/ 431 gr and Slick Tricks [100 gr] They fly real well out of all three of my bows, so I don't hesitate to tell others that are having problems about them. They are also compound friendly, and are offered by 10 pt as well.
Old 09-05-2006, 09:55 AM
Spike

to BOTH of you,

my CB is NOT a compound bow. it is an OLD (but in great shape) Barnett Rhino 150#/245FPS RECURVE.

thanks for your comments.

free dixie,sw
Old 09-05-2006, 11:06 AM
Dnk
Nontypical Buck