Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

Need Info

Old 08-08-2006, 01:21 PM
Fork Horn

Default Need Info

I am new to crossbows, I was wondering if you can use regular broadheads on the bolts or are there specific broadheads for crossbows. Any info will be great, Thanks.
Old 08-08-2006, 01:31 PM
Dnk
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Need Info

More information would be nice. Do you shoot mechanicals? What are you hunting? What speed does your crossbow shoot?
BTW, no offence but it is currently perfered for political reasons as well as accuracy that we all call them arrows.
Don
Old 08-08-2006, 01:46 PM
Fork Horn

Sorry about that. 270fps, Yes, I shoot mechanicals and I hunt Deer.
Old 08-08-2006, 02:26 PM

You can shoot any fixed blade head on a BOLT (sorry don, just had to do it!) Asfor mechs you have to be careful. Some of the mechs can have premature openings from the power of a CB, but DNK is the resident expert on the mechs so his next reply should be able to help ya out. But as for me, for the last ten years I have always used Muzzys 100 grain and never had any problems, but just wished my trails were a little shorter. I have had the itch to try a mech for two or three years now and this year I narrowed it down to the G5 Teken 2's. Will be ordering them soon and cant wait to give a try.
Old 08-08-2006, 02:31 PM

I say you could shoot any can of broad heads that you what too. I have neve hand a problem with my broad heads.
Old 08-08-2006, 05:51 PM
Dnk
Nontypical Buck