Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Brand new to Bowhunting

Old 05-05-2005, 09:08 AM

Default Brand new to Bowhunting

Hello all, I am a very new person looking to get a bow and gear for hunting. I really have no idea where to start except here and read and ask a few questions. As far as a bow, I know there are lots of specs such as speed, length, sound, vibration, etc and lot of wierd words like whicker biscuit or basket and other gear, that I'm not sure what i would need to attach to this bow, so I was wondering what is important when selecting a bow and what brands. The last bow I shot was a Bear recurve bow which was 25 years ago. I've been reading about Hoyt, Matthews, PCE?. I have saved about $700 for my bow setup, so any help would be appreciated.
Old 05-05-2005, 09:29 AM

Default RE: Brand new to Bowhunting

I am also fairly new at archery. Less than a year. There are many knowledgeable people on this web that can help. Some of the things I have learned are. Go to a Pro Shop and have someone who is knowledgeable help you get set up with a bow. I don't think I would buy a really expensive bow until I was sure that I really enjoyed archery. The Pro Shop can help with everything bow, sight, rest, release, arrows, draw length from top to bottom. Try to hook up with someone who is already into archery, they can help avoid a lot of pitfalls when just beginning. DO NOT be afraid to ask any question at all. The people on here will be more than glad to help.

Bones
Old 05-05-2005, 09:56 AM

Bones has been here long enough to know we'll send you to a pro shop. It's important to get measured and to get a bow that fits properly. If the bow dosen't fit correctly you'll develope bad form and habits that can take years to correct.
Old 05-05-2005, 10:01 AM