Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Looking for a inexpensive release aid

Old 05-02-2005, 04:00 AM

Default Looking for a inexpensive release aid

I am new to archery and due to low funding am looking for a good price on a release aid. I am wanting either a post style resease or a loop style release. Does anyone have one I can buy or know of a good place/company to look?? Links are welcome, Thank You
Old 05-02-2005, 06:57 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Looking for a inexpensive release aid

first, you need to define expensive. I just spent $75 on a release, and that to me is pricey. but tru ball makes a good inexpensive release. I shot one for years. you can find an inexpensive yet good release for, I'd say $30.
Old 05-02-2005, 08:06 AM
Nontypical Buck

Because I don't even like caliper/wrist style releases I don't use them, but they are the choice by the majority. Take a look at some of those made by True Ball. They are noted to have very good, crisp triggers. Check out the classifieds over on archery talk and you may find a decent used one. Maybe someone at a local club has an extra one they don't use any more. Maybe a local shop has a demo they can sell you for a little less money.

I have a very slightly used True Fire Hurricane that I'll sell for $30. That'll include shipping. It's got maybe 50 shots through it. If interested let me know. This is about $55- $60 retail release.

Personally I would save a little more money and buy something better than economy. Good releases last for many years and CHEAP usually means just that. Sorry to say, but archery is getting to be a very expensive sport and inexpensive and quality just don't fit in the same paragraph.