Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

traditional vs modern

Old 01-04-2005, 05:52 AM
Typical Buck

Default traditional vs modern

Last weekend I was in Cabelas and toyed with the idea of giving a recurve a try, but I am not sure if it would have a negative impact on my current setup which has all the bells and whistles. I do have one bow that I shoot with fingers and one that I shoot with a release. My fingers don't seem to cooperate like I remember them doing when I started shooting some 20 years ago. Also my finger bow has no peep and I catch myself peeking and not keeping my head on the string. Any thoughts from those that have made the switch or from those that shoot both would be appreciated.
Old 01-04-2005, 05:56 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: traditional vs modern

i just started trad. this november. i love it, i cant honestly remember enjoying shooting so much, it is quite amazing to me that i can hit ANYTHING, let alone tightly group, with no sights, rest peep, release.....but i do . i think i'll be ready to hunt by next season. i had the same question as you and tried shootin my compound to see if trad shooting affected me. i think it made me better, if anything....
Old 01-04-2005, 06:02 AM
Typical Buck

Second set of questions on this matter would be what poundage bow to buy. I currently shoot 65lbs @ 31 1/2". The bows I picked up and looked at all said 55lbs @ 28". As I understand it traditional bows do not bottom out and just develop more poundage at longer draw. Any thoughts on selecting a bow?
Old 01-04-2005, 06:04 AM
Nontypical Buck

i shoot 62 lbs compound, and i shoot 50 lbs with my recurve. talk to the guys in the trad bowhunting forum they have been super knowledgable and helpfull.
good luck
moose
Old 01-04-2005, 07:36 AM
Nontypical Buck