Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Shoot it or dont shoot it???

Old 12-07-2004, 08:45 AM

Default Shoot it or dont shoot it???

Hey i got a question for ya. I am new to the whole bow hunting thing and still have to fill my tag. I went out and bought a steal cam, put it out on sat. night and came back to hunt sunday moring. Well the roll of film was full. Anyways. There was pictures of 2 differnet does, a button buck, what i think is a 6-7 pointer and a one horn buck. My question is, if that one horn buck walks by do i shoot, or wait for a bigger 2 horned buck. The only thing is i hunt in a metro unit of wisconsin, and the deer are mostly night movers, i have hunted as much as i can this year and have only seen two does, which i missed at 25 yards, i got the fever!!!

Anyway let me know what ya think. Here is a pic of the one horn.

Old 12-07-2004, 08:47 AM

Default RE: Shoot it or dont shoot it???

Here is the pic of the bigger buck i got on film. Might help in factoring in weather to shoot or not. The pic does not show the whole rack, but it is what i got.

Let me know what ya think
Thanks

Old 12-07-2004, 09:19 AM

Ultimately, it is your call.
My personal opinion would be to let both walk and try again for a doe, they will eat just
fine. The small 1 horn is only a 1-1.5 year old and probably lost the other horn in a small skirmish. I would let him go. The other deer is hard to tell but it too looks young.
If you want big bucks you have to let them grow.
Practice a lot and work on calm breathing exercises to calm the "fever". In thru the nose slowly out thru the mouth. Being in good Physical shape can help a lot with the "fever" too. Push ups, sit ups, a little jogging or walking a few miles on the treadmill or in the woods can really help you to control that nervous feeling.