Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

How important are rubber boots

Old 10-25-2004, 08:59 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default How important are rubber boots

I have been wearing the same boots for the past three years and I think that I am giving off a foul odor. They are rubber around the botttom up to the ankle and brown like swade leather. I have been thinking about making a change to mid calf rubber boots, what are the benefits? I know that they may be cold when the weather changes but how are they with scent control? Any recommendations for a working man, style or maker would be great!
Old 10-25-2004, 10:03 PM

Default RE: How important are rubber boots

Rubber boots are all I use during deer season because they do not give off odor. I have a pair of Browning knee high boots in mossy oak breakup with 2000 grams of thinsulate. They are warm waterproof and scentfree, I got mine at sportsmanguide.com for about $50
Old 10-25-2004, 10:11 PM
Typical Buck

I have Winchester knee boots with 1800 grams of thinsulate.

They are warm if they are dry. If your feet sweat then I would get a good boot dryer as high rubber boot are tough to dry out otherwise. I picked up a Peet brand new on Ebay for around $25.00 shipped.

It works well and has a 25 year waranty!
Old 10-25-2004, 10:57 PM
Dominant Buck

Don't sweat the boots. All have rubber soles. Most screw up by stopping to get gas along the way to their hunting stand. They may also stop to get coffee or munchies while wearing their boots. This is the biggest no no. Who knows what your stepping in? Gas, oil, gum, mustard and so on. That's where the mistake is made. Don't you do it.

I want warmth over rubber everytime. Think about the big one in front of you with cold feet. If your feet are cold, your body is cold and you will be twitching. All recipies for disappointment.