Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

first year bowhunting help!!!

Old 09-22-2004, 01:57 AM

Default first year bowhunting help!!!

ok this is my first year bow hunting and i scouted earlyier this year and found a good place to hunt were there are alot of acorns on the ground and there are trails all around comming in to were the acorns are i also have put a salt block and threw some apples out and poured out a product called whitetail addiction and i have walked in there in the mornings to hunt and i have scared out deer so i know they are comming to that location alot then plus there is a creek running right behind it so i guess my question is would it be better for me to hunt dirrectly over this site or should i hunt over one of the trails or what please help me understand what would be best for me to do any help whould be greatly appriciated thanks in advance for all responces.

thanks , white
Old 09-22-2004, 02:16 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: first year bowhunting help!!!

If your scaring deer out in the morning on your way in chances are there is a bedding area not too far. Study the trails to find the bedding areas and the staging areas. If your area is real close to the bedding area you may have to get there a couple hours before sunrise. If the bedding area is far enough away to allow you to set up between the bedding area and the feeding (acorns) area try setting up there and always keep the wind in your face when you enter the woods. Do you have options on which direction you enter the woods from? It sounds like it may be a good afternoon stand?
Keep the wind in your face!
Old 09-22-2004, 02:34 AM

im pretty sure that they are beding right were the acorns and all the other stuff that i put out are so what should i do?
Old 09-22-2004, 02:38 AM