Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Question about the level on my Copper Johns sight..

Old 09-19-2004, 08:54 PM

Default Question about the level on my Copper Johns sight..

I have a Copper Johns 5 pin sight with the Level on bottom. I am new to shooting, and have been doing good. When I first started I would get the bubble level and was shooting right so I moved the sights. Had it fixed and was shooting dead center from 10-50 yrds. Well this weekend I finally got my tripod up and did some practice from it. Well If I held my level bubble center I shot left about 3 inches. Every time up and down was good just left. So I told my buddy I am just gonna shoot with the pin and not look at the level just use what feels right. I hit dead center grouped about 2.5 inches at 30 yrds.

Why is this like I say I am new to this. My theory is that the level is level with the earth where I was on a tripod stand not exactly level so when I was putting the bubble level it was level to the earth, but not the tripod and where I was shooting from?? Or are my sights just off??

Thanks
Tanner
Old 09-20-2004, 05:40 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Question about the level on my Copper Johns sight..

This sounds like a 3rd axis problem to me. I thought I knew what I was talking about until I began researching a response on this thread. I found that high poundage bows must have their 3rd axis set at full draw to compensate for riser torque. I fall into this catagory so if anyone has some good articles on how to set up the Copper John (I think there's one on using a plumb bob, but I can;t find it) please post it here.

Thanks!
Old 09-20-2004, 08:15 AM
Nontypical Buck

I agree with mrfritz44. I had a similar problem with my Spot Hogg sight until I set the 3rd axis properly. This is taken from their website.

3rd axis leveling