Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

An obsession to hunting. A few tips?

Old 02-26-2002, 04:34 PM

Default An obsession to hunting. A few tips?

I am a new bow hunter I have been deer hunter for about 4 years (unfortunitly, haven't killed any thing yet) But last year was my first year bowhunting. I am 15 and REALLY into hunting (I think something is wrong with me. HAHA) What is a good sight and arrow rest for a 31" draw length, 65LBS, 65% let off bow? Is there any tips you could give me? Thanks,

Buddy Stippich
Old 02-26-2002, 04:43 PM
tm
Fork Horn

Default RE: An obsession to hunting. A few tips?

Several of each to pick from, my favorites are Bodoodle rests (Pro 500 or Pro Lite) and Spot Hog sights (their new Barebones sight is a great hunting sight).
Old 02-26-2002, 04:45 PM

Sorry VA Hunter. I can't help you there, because I'm fairly new to hunting, I'm 13, been hunting for 2 years and bowhunting for 1 year. I have killed 4 bucks, so maybe I'm doing something right. But you might want to visit an archery shop I'm sure they could give you advice on which sights and rests you should use and they will probably give you some helpfull hints and tips too.
Old 02-26-2002, 04:47 PM

Howdy VA hunter, im also 15 and have been bowhuntin for about 6 years now. THe best sight i ahve ever used out of Tru-glo, Montana Black gold and Archers choice i the Archers choice Grizzly. Its a low pofile sight yet indestructable. The pins are short but bright enough to give you that extra 10 minutes of shooting time. They make another sight thats is almost exactly teh same, but is a little bit taller and lets you use more pins. My favorite rest so far hs been the N.A.P. quiktune 3000. Its easy to tune, but is a little ouder than say a bodoodle, but this is solved easliy by putting a little fingernail polish on the ends of the prongs. Hope this helps.