Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Ever been bit bya snake?

Old 07-31-2004, 08:15 PM

Default Ever been bit bya snake?

I've been hunting for the past 2 years and havent seen a single snake. I live in western Ga. However, not wanting run my luck I've been thinking about picking up some snake proof boots. Do any of you use these? Has anyone ever really needed them or been bitten? Are the $45 boots as protective as the $150 boots?

Old 07-31-2004, 08:21 PM

Default RE: Ever been bit bya snake?

You get what you pay for, as in the boots, and you pay for what you get, being the deer. I would invest in some snake boots if your wandering that far off the map. Can get kind of sticky when you run into a mess of the bad ones.[:@]
Old 07-31-2004, 09:53 PM
Boone & Crockett

Do you wear rubber boots. If so that is all the snake bite protection you will ever need.

When I was a kid my brother and myself lived in Katy Texas and 5 -6 foot long cotton mouths were pretty common in the ditches and rice fields. Any way my brother stepped on one of these big boys one day while picking up golf balls in a ditch and it bit him hard on his rubber boot twice. They did not come close to getting through.

A good rubber boot is pretty dang tough and pretty hard to penetrate. Even the biggest of snakes we have in America does not have the jaw strenght it would take to bite through good rubber boots.

I will also say that that is the only time we have come close to being bit by a poisonous snake. When it was actually stepped on or we actually handled them.

We handled hundreds off them while growing up and if left alone they won't even bother you. I have handled a number of rattle snakes as well and same goes for them. If you leave them alone they will leave you alone. 99% of the time if they are aware of you they will flee the area.
Old 07-31-2004, 11:29 PM