Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

PVC tube feeder...

Old 07-29-2004, 09:23 AM
voz
Fork Horn

Default PVC tube feeder...

Anybody built a tube feeder? What size pvc? What length...and how much corn did it hold (ie: 4ft=20lbs)..any help is appreciated..thanks.
Old 07-29-2004, 10:10 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: PVC tube feeder...

Voz, I've been using pvc pipe for about 5 years and it makes a great feeder. I generally use one about 5 foot tall and I think it's 6 inch in diameter. I attach it to a tree using duct tape/rope/bungi cords, whatever I have available. I attach it so the bottom of the pvc is about 3 to 4 inches off the ground. That lets just enough corn run out. By the way corn is the only thing I've had success with. Feed will get wet and pack in the pvc so I just use the corn. The white color of the pvc doesn't seem to bother the deer at all. The pipe will hold about 30 pounds of corn. If you put in the woods, squirrels will eat all your corn. I like to put mine in a clearing, such as a power line, that way the squirrels will spend limited time eating your corn. Also, when the racoons and possums find it, they will eat alot of your corn and the raccoons will tear it down if they can't get enough corn to come out of it. You end up feeding alot of animals but it is a cheap way to attract wildlife. I've used traps to catch alot of the racoon and possums.
Old 07-29-2004, 11:14 AM

my raccons are smart, they don't try to take down the PVC, they just dig all the corn out with there paws. They can empty the feeder in one night, all the corn is on the ground after they get done.
Old 07-29-2004, 11:48 AM
Giant Nontypical