Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Question on sight adjustment

Old 07-19-2004, 02:17 PM

Default Question on sight adjustment

I am having trouble with a sight adjustment. I have had to run my pendulum sight all the way to the right to get close to my impact point. My arrow rest is a whisker biscuit. Here is the question and forgive my ignorance but I am new with this bow stuff. Can the arrow rest be adjusted left to right so that I can get my impact point correct? I know I can adjust it but will doing this create other problems?
Old 07-19-2004, 02:25 PM

Default RE: Question on sight adjustment

Here is one of the problems. You need to run your pendalum sight to the right, right over to the garbage and dump it in there because those things are nothing but a hassle. On a serious note you do not want to move your rest from center to adjust to arrow flight or it will shoot your arrow at a angle not straight. Always center your rest with the string and work from there on arrow flight.
Old 07-19-2004, 02:26 PM
Nontypical Buck

If you're still shooting too far right then you can try moving your rest to the left.Are your arrows hitting the target straight?
Old 07-19-2004, 02:26 PM

Sounds to me like you are left-eye dominant while shooting right handed or vice-versa.
It happened to me when I first started to learn how to shoot.
try using a peep sight and squinting the eye opposite the type of bow you have (RH-LH)
rh bOW CLOSE LEFT eYE. YOU SHOULD FIND THAT YOUR SIGHT NEEDS TO GO BACK THE OPPOSITE WAY YOU HAVE BEEN MOVING IT!
Old 07-19-2004, 02:41 PM

jsasker...the arrows are hitting the target pretty close to straight on. The only reason I am asking this is that in low light, with the sight moved all the way over to the right, it can be a little difficult to pick up the pin through the peep.
Bowdaddy...I am right eye dominant shooting right handed.