Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

How long have you been shooting?

Old 02-10-2004, 04:51 PM

Default How long have you been shooting?

I have been shooting for 2 months. I can get each arrow about 2 inches away from the other. I've heard that some of you guys can get 1 inch groups at 20-30 yards. How long have you been shooting? Do you think I can get to shooting that good. I have a PSE Fire-Flite 33. I know the bow doesn't matter, it's the shooter, but I'm just curious as to how long you guys have shot.
Old 02-10-2004, 04:59 PM

Default RE: How long have you been shooting?

zak123, sometimes it is the bow, not the brand necessarily, but the setup. It could be out of tune, etc. But, 2 inch groups sounds good to me. I've been shooting for 12 years now, and I can't do much better than that. That is good shooting. When I REALLY practice alot, I can shoot lights out and literally hit anything I aim at out to 40yds, but it takes a hell of alot of practice to do it, and I don't have that kind of time anymore. I will settle for 2 inch groups at 20 and 4-5 inch groups at 30. That is WAY better than most people can truly shoot.
Old 02-10-2004, 04:59 PM

well I have been shootin for a few weeks myself now because im just gettin into the bow hunting im shooting bout 2 or 3 inch groups when im actually shootin good so i figure if i shoot more i will get better. I also need to get a stabilizer so that will help me a lot.
Old 02-10-2004, 05:07 PM

Find a local 3-D range and shoot all that you, this will allow you to develope distance judging and present you with life like situations.
Old 02-10-2004, 05:17 PM

Are 6" groups good enough for deer.
Old 02-10-2004, 05:41 PM
Giant Nontypical

Are 6" groups good enough for deer.
Quite honestly.......no they are not.