Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

test bows @ cabelas ?

Old 01-27-2004, 07:12 AM

Default test bows @ cabelas ?

Will be buying my first bow this w/end and was thinking of taking a ride to cabelas in Hamburg PA. Does anyone knwo if you can test the bows there ? I was going to buy one w/out shooting one , but came to my senses. Any input on a brand ? Sorry for all the ?'s but I'm a newbie to bows. I have been hunting for about 10ys but not with a bow. Should I get a longer cam to cam bow since they are more forgiving ?

Old 01-27-2004, 07:32 AM

Default RE: test bows @ cabelas ?

12 hits and no replys ? C'mon guys need some help here.
Old 01-27-2004, 07:36 AM
jbc

I believe you can. They have an indoor range. You may want to call first to verify. Even if they don't, there is no such thing as a wasted trip to Cabelas!
Old 01-27-2004, 08:40 AM
Nontypical Buck

I am not quite sure if you can test the bows there or not. I have been there 3 times and I didn't see an indoor range but I would imagine they have to have one, but I too would call in advance. As far as which brand, you are going to get a ton of differing opinions. It all depends on what you are looking for and how much you want to spend. Personally I love my bowtech and wouldn't trade it for the world. I have a pro 38 dually and it's fast, quiet, forgiving and accurate. Yet some people are in love with their Mathews and Hoyt both of which are also excellent bows. This is the main reason why you have to shoot the bows before you buy them, each person feels better with a different bow in their hands. But like jbc said, there is no such thing as a wasted trip to Cabelas.
Old 01-27-2004, 08:58 AM
Typical Buck