Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Got my first deer NOV. 2 and on camera too!!!

Old 11-12-2003, 01:02 AM

Default Got my first deer NOV. 2 and on camera too!!!

After 4 years of bowhunting without taking a shot in the field, I finally got a chance at a deer. I have always seen plenty of deer when hunting but I could never quite put all the right moves together to get a shot off.

I am a freshman in college this year and I wasn' t anticipating much hunting this year. Two weekends ago, I had a chance to go home and do some hunting on Sunday the second. My dad wanted to go with me and video tape the hunt from our " tree house." My dad and I built a big 8' x8' tree stand in a large oak tree that is in the middle of a big funnel on the side of a field on some of our land. This stand is awsome, we could sleep comfortably in the thing if we wanted too.

Anyway, my dad and I got up in the morning about an hour before dark and got our stuff together. We have a " cabin" about 400 yards from the woodlot that I hunted in that Sunday. We got into the stand about 25 minutes before dark and as I was getting my gloves and hat on, we heard some deer coming across a barbed wire fence 50 yards from the stand. I slowly and quietly got my bow and knocked an arrow. My dad turned the camera on and got that ready to go. THen it was time to wait for light. When it got to be light out, there were no deer to be seen. My guess is they heard me getting ready in the stand and slowly worked away from us.