Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Essential treestand supplies?

Old 11-07-2003, 10:15 PM

Default Essential treestand supplies?

Hey All,

First off... I just want to say THANK YOU to everyone here at the boards! I have been soaking in all the info I can! This is my first year in the fine sport of bowhunting! And all of the info you have shared is PRICELESS!!!

Since I' m new to the sport, I' m wanting to know what type of gear I should take with me to my stand? I mean besides the obvious bow & arrows! Any list of items that have helped you in the past? Any " tricks fo the trade" items? I just purchased a rattle bag & grunt call recently. That' s pretty much all I have purchased so far. I want to hear from you guys before I go out & buy things that attract deer hunters instead of deer!

Thanks, Goob
Old 11-07-2003, 10:20 PM

Default RE: Essential treestand supplies?

PULL UP ROPE TO PULL BOW UP WITH .BOW HOLDER SCREW IN TYPE,STRAPS, EXTRA ROPE WITH A HOOK ON IT JUST IN CASE ANYTHING FALLS OUT OF YOUR TREESTAND YOU CAN PULL IT BACK UP.MANY MORE BUT OTHER HUNTERS WILL COVER IT.

GO DEEP HUNT HARD.
Old 11-07-2003, 11:27 PM

i try to minimize what i carry to my stand. a pull up rope, grunt tube, and maybe a flashlight. i try to stay minimal, the less things you have up there the less you have to worry about. but i would get together a box of bow essentials. you can buy a plano box at Wal-Mart. put some fletching glue, razorblades, extra server, lighter, and a set of allen head wrenches. you need to have something like this in your truck in case something goes wrong. Good Luck!!
Old 11-08-2003, 10:07 AM
Fork Horn