Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Finally got my first bow kill!!!

Old 10-30-2003, 06:19 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Finally got my first bow kill!!!

I' m 16 and I have been hunting for three years know. I have gotten 4 deer with a gun but I just couldn' t get one with a bow. Well two or three nights ago I was sitting in my stand I shot right over the back of a big doe. However just last night a buck came in and I shot and dropped it in its tracks. I don' t know why I' m shooting so high but I was aiming low on this one. Also this shoot entered about 6 inches below the back? I' m using rocket steelheads and the package said that they can bust through bone if they have to, but they will try to go around bone if they can. I' m thinking it would have been a perfect double lung but the broadhead hit a rib or something and bounced up into the spine? Any ideas what could have happened. Well anyways it is my biggest buck to date it is a big six point. This deer has like 6 or 7 inch g2s and the spread is probably 15 or 16 outside. This deer also has a lot of mass. I think i' m going to get this one mounted because its my first bowkill and it is a really big buck for the area. Well i' m excited, but I have used all of my buck tags this year and gun season hasn' t opened! This may sound funny but I have been trying really hard to get a doe and I cannot get one! I have gotten 5 bucks and 0 does. So I get to hunt the rest of the year for strictly does and hopefully can break this curse. -Sam
Old 10-30-2003, 06:33 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Finally got my first bow kill!!!

Congrats on your first bow kill, I do have a question, do you pratcie with your broadheads, this could be why you are shooting high if you don' t.
Old 10-30-2003, 07:14 AM

Congrat' s man ......that' s awesome !! Tazman is right .......have you practiced with them ???