Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Hitting forearm while shooting? please help!

Old 10-10-2003, 10:40 AM

Default Hitting forearm while shooting? please help!

Thought I would take a few practice shots today and I am hitting my forearm with the string every time I shoot.[:@] I have never done this before and cant seem to quit doing it now. I wouldn' t woory but its affecting my accuracy somewhat. Suggestions please, I,m going to the woods tonite and my forearm can' t take this abuse much longer.
Old 10-10-2003, 10:46 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Hitting forearm while shooting? please help!

Man I am not sure what you are doing different, but you have subconsicially (sp) changed your form! Take your time and make sure you are gripping your bow correctly, you are anchoring in the same spot, and your bow arm is right. The whole problem is form.
Old 10-10-2003, 11:02 AM
Boone & Crockett

Usually when someone is hitting their arm it' s an indication that 1, the draw length is too long and 2, form.

If your just starting this now, sounds like it' s a form problem....the best advice I can give is reavaluate your form or have a friend watch you as you shoot, it could simply be stance, open it up a smidge.
Old 10-10-2003, 11:17 AM
Nontypical Buck

Shorten your draw.
Old 10-10-2003, 11:23 AM

Working hard on it. Just kind of ticking it lightly now but OWWWIIIEEE!
Old 10-10-2003, 11:36 AM
Giant Nontypical

I agree with Taz.... Somehow your positioning got changed. Is your wrist on your bow hand bend slightly or is it straight? I remember the one time my form wasn' t right and I didn' t realize it. Thwaaaaack!!!! My right hand forearm (I' m a lefty shooter) got a nice 4" strawberry going down it! [] I learned very quickly not to do that again!

Butch
Old 10-10-2003, 12:24 PM

Read this off the tech forum. It may help