Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Who showed you proper shooting style?

Old 05-14-2003, 10:41 AM

Default Who showed you proper shooting style?

Who showed you correct shooting style and how do you know it is correct? I hear all the time on these boards to use correct shooting style, but I see different shooting for different people.
Old 05-14-2003, 11:43 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Who showed you proper shooting style?

I can' t really say that anyone actually taught me how to shoot. When i started shooting a bow i just shot and watched other people and sort of developed my own style. Some people shoot with a slight bend in their bow arm and some don' t. After i fried my forearm several times i learned that the slight bend worked best for me. I try to keep my back straight and bend at the hips slightly when shooting which helps me alot. I practice all types of shooting positions standing, sitting, even on my knees from time to time. When in a stand i practice shooting lots of different angles because you never know when that buck of a lifetime will approach from an unexspected way like they usually will. I don' t know that my style is the correct style but i do know that it works for me. Everyone is different and probably shoot a little differently so i say whatever works for you and keeps you in the kill zone is the correct style. God Bless!
Old 05-14-2003, 01:22 PM

I learned how to shoot pretty much on my own during the early 70' s. I still shoot recurves with a very similar style. How do I know it' s the right form? I know because it works. There is no generic " right" form. There are variations of tried and true form techniques that promote consitency. Consistency is the name of the game and good form tends to force consistency in all aspects of the shot.