Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Lease for next year

Old 12-07-2008, 03:35 PM

Default Lease for next year

OK everyone, I need some insight. This is my first year bowhunting and a buddy of mine was gracious enough to let me hunt on his lease land. Next year he is going to lose the lease and all he will have is private(to him only) I have found a 100 acre piece of ground that I can lease. It has an 60 acre alfalfa(sp) field that the ownercuts for hay for his cattle. On the north and east sides will be corn fields. On the south 20+ acres of woods that runs down the west side(pretty narrow on the west side) and then opens up to another 15-20 acres of woods. There is a big creek that runs from the NW to the SE end of the property. The only entrance to the property in on the NW corner.

I need some help on how to scout it for next year. I plan on shed hunting in Feb. and March but I would like to have a year long plan on how to pettern them. Any help would be greatly appriciated.

Thanx in advance for the reply's
Old 12-07-2008, 05:00 PM

Default RE: Lease for next year

Anyone?

Really need some help on this

Old 12-07-2008, 05:58 PM
Super Moderator

Can you hunt it now or you have to wait?
When do you start leasing it, after the season I presume. If so, do some scouting when possible this winter while there are no leaves and greenery. All trails should be very clear, scrapes, etc. Especially note any huge rubs on a cedar tree or telephone pole. In a place I hunt the same poles(2) and a cedar tree are always rubbed year after year and in those years at least one nice buck is around.
Old 12-07-2008, 06:06 PM

Cougar Mag...... Thanx for the reply. I can't huntit yet but havepermission to doall the scouting I want.

I have read a few things about scouting all year long. Any merit to this? If so what all does it involve?
Old 12-07-2008, 06:48 PM