Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

First time advice

Old 10-12-2008, 04:46 PM
Fork Horn

Default First time advice

Hey everyone, deer bow season starts this comin saturday in WV, hell yea. This is my first time out hunting with a bow, ive been practicing every weekend for a couple months since i bought it. Ive gun hunted for years but whats everyones best advice for first time out on a bow hunt. Thanks yall have a good one.!!!
Old 10-12-2008, 05:09 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: First time advice

sent control and limit your movement. Its pretty much the same as gun hunting, just more up close and personal, so your movement and sent are very important. And a range finder. When you get to your spot locate spots, a clump of grass, a tree a rock, something. So when a deer does show up you know what pin to use without having to grab your range finder.. Good luck, ours also starts Saturday
Old 10-12-2008, 05:14 PM
Dominant Buck

Just stay within yourself. You think you know your limitations (shot distances).....just stick to it.

Having never gun hunted a deer.....I can tell you when you come to full draw on an animal....your mind's gonna race. Mine did, just last night. I'm learning to take that extra moment when I get to full draw....just to make sure what's in my sight window is exactly what I want. It's a tough thing to do (for me).....BUT....it's one of the reasons I love bowhunting.

As a gun hunter....you already know about the path of your projectile. Just know you now have some obstacles that your new projectile will possibly have issues with. You shloud be fine, here.

Welcome aboard!
Old 10-12-2008, 06:29 PM
Spike