Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

First day buck turns into first sleepless night

Old 10-06-2008, 02:02 PM
Fork Horn

Default First day buck turns into first sleepless night

Opening Night had me 22-25ft over a large scrape surrounded by rubs and trails. To say the least I was hopeful to see a nice buck. I haven't had the opportunity to archery hunt really since i graduated high school,mostly due too college. Now that I am out of college living with a friend and really have no commitments besides work I plan on hunting my ass off this year! Opening day brought success in the morning with a doe, now I'm sitting in the Mecca of buck sign. I crawled up into my stand around 3PM planning on sitting for a long night (I had no idea). 6pm rolls around and a mature doe begins to feed toward my stand, I just watch her come to the scrap and work it alittle and finally feed off about 20 yards toward a soy bean field behind me. Still standing I now see a buck munching apples about 70 yards away. He entered the woods from the same exact spot as the doe so I really have no doubt hes coming to the scrap. Walking like a buck walks he covered ground quickly and offered me a 20 yard shot BUT as I come to full draw he quickly gets behind some trees and begins to rip the ground apart seemingly for minutes (still at full draw) Finally with my arms burning he steps out for a quartering away shot.