Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Turkey guys tell me what to expect!

Old 04-26-2008, 08:00 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Turkey guys tell me what to expect!

I will be heading to Robs the 16th of May to hunt turkeys and I have never done the turkey hunting thing before. So my question to you is what should I expect? Other than hunting with Rob.LOL[8D]
Old 04-26-2008, 08:06 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Turkey guys tell me what to expect!

Don't expect them to come running to your decoys or calls, like on the dvd's. In the real world, that rarely happens.[:'(]It might get better later in the season when the hens are sitting on the nests. Sometimes you can catch a lonely gobbler in the right mood, and he'll run you over.

Most of the time we end up hunting them like deer. Setting up on their travel routes and ambushing them.
Old 04-26-2008, 08:11 PM
Nontypical Buck

Well I am just hoping to see one let alone get a shot. Im just gonna follow robs lead. We get one in range im pretty confident I can make the shot! For some reason it never works out like on t.v.[:@]
Old 04-26-2008, 09:40 PM
Nontypical Buck

uh...hopefully not snow

You should expect to be addicted, right after you hear the first gobble in a hunting situation
Old 04-26-2008, 10:36 PM
Spike

Although I have yet to take my first bird w/a bow (3+ years)I can tell you with 100% certainty that MN/Kyle is right about being addicted to the experience of being in the turkey woods!! Actually words can't do justice to what I feltwhenI heard that first gobbler in the woods. I've been fortunate ?enough to film 3 different people take a bird, and hopefully this year will be my turn [&:]
Old 04-26-2008, 10:55 PM