Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

teaching how to be a good bowhunter

Old 04-25-2008, 08:03 AM
Typical Buck

Default teaching how to be a good bowhunter

I'd like to know how many of you guys taught yourself to be good bowhunters... as opposed to many people who have had someone teach them all the tricks? I'm teaching myself and it's not too easy. What tools helped you the most (eg;; scouting , location etc..) on becoming successful? Or was it the will to not give up?
Old 04-25-2008, 08:11 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: teaching how to be a good bowhunter

I have yet to prove to myself that I am a good bowhunter. I am mostly self taught, having learned most of what I know here at HNI. I have killed several deer and a few dozen feral hogs in 3 1/2 years of bowhunting. I am proficient, but am I good? Maybe not yet. When I get a mature buck on the ground we will talk again. When I consistantly get mature bucks on the ground, well, then I'm good.
Old 04-25-2008, 08:47 AM
Nontypical Buck

Attention to details. Learn all you can about deer. Read everything you can get your hands on. Watch deer in the wild. Study everything they do. What do they eat? how do they react to things. Keep your gear simple and in Perfect working order. Slow down in the woods and take the time to really study everything. Become a deer hunting CSI guy.
Old 04-25-2008, 08:51 AM
Giant Nontypical

The best teacher by far is failure. If you keep doing the same ole same ole you will always get the same ole results. Failure will make or break a bow hunter.
Old 04-25-2008, 08:58 AM
Dominant Buck