Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Anchor point?

Old 03-28-2008, 08:40 PM
Typical Buck

Default Anchor point?

OK...Im no pro, and I have never taken any lessons. I hear about the anchor point from posts here but I have no clue what it is. I use a kisser button, am I close? I was looking at the "my big fat shooting forum" and looked at several forms. Mine is similar, so what is my anchor point?

I have always been the kind of guy who never reads instructions, never asks for directions, and shoot in the low 80's playing golf without a single lesson. Im asking you guys!

Help a brother out trying to learn the language!
Old 03-28-2008, 08:47 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Anchor point?

There is no one anchor point IMO. I have three, my knuckle is pressed behind my ear on the pressure point, my nose touches the string, and my lip touches top laft feather. When all three of these are touching I know i am anchored in the right place. I know several different guys that have several different anchor points. It is just so you know you are drawing back to the same place every time. A kisser button is a form of anchor, IMO, you should have at least one more, that way you will know for sure you are drawing back and releasing from exactly the same point. I really like the pressure point behind the ear, however it doesn't work for every style of shooting. Draw your bow back and just be comfortable and you should find something along these lines that works for you naturally...Good luck with it you will find something that works for you.
Old 03-28-2008, 08:56 PM

kisser in the corner of ya mouth!
Old 03-28-2008, 09:15 PM