Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Do You Consider Yourself A Professional Hunter?

Old 02-21-2008, 06:34 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Do You Consider Yourself A Professional Hunter?

As the subject line says, do you consider yourself a professional hunter? If you say no, please explain why. After we've had some input, I'll fill you in on the rest of the story.
Old 02-21-2008, 06:42 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Do You Consider Yourself A Professional Hunter?

No, I don’t consider myself a professional hunter.

My thoughts are because hunting does not contribute in any way to how I make my living...

Old 02-21-2008, 06:44 PM

Depends on how you define profession.

Main Entry:
pro·fes·sion
Pronunciation:
\prə-ˈfe-shən\
Function:
noun
4 a:a calling requiring specialized knowledge and often long and intensive academic preparation b:a principal calling, vocation, or employment c:the whole body of persons engaged in a calling

By that definition, a good majority of us could be considered professional hunters.

So... Yes?
Old 02-21-2008, 06:45 PM
Dominant Buck

NO. I do it for my enjoyment and mine alone. I don't do it for kudos, pay, livelyhoodor to top anyone else. I do it for the meat and the satisfaction of hearing TWACK after a well thought out plan. Am I good at it? Somewhat. Do I care if anyone else cares? Not at all. It's purely a personnal thing to me. I have a couple social events each year..... but I don't count them as real hunting. LOL I know what I'm doing and it works.... FOR ME. That's the only person I'm trying to please.
Old 02-21-2008, 06:49 PM