Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Loop guys

Old 01-31-2008, 08:03 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default Loop guys

I have been shooting of the string for 23 years now. I have decided to go to a rope thing

For the guys who use rope in hunting conditions I have a few questions.

1.Why not use the Ultra Nock?
2.Have you ever struggle to get your release on at the moment of truth
3.Have you ever have the rope move up or down?
Old 01-31-2008, 08:10 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Rope release guys

1. Don't know for sure. I have heard that the metal nock are heavier and hurt like the dickens if you happen to hit your forearm with the string. I have also heard they can pinch the string and reduce string life. Again, not sure because I haven't tried one.
2. No. Never.
3. No. Never. Tension from continuous shooting makes the loop very secure.
Old 01-31-2008, 08:12 AM
Giant Nontypical

the ultra nock? is that the big ole thing that clamps to your string??? buddy shoots one...couldnt pay me to put that on my string..big, heavy, and i think it may be noisy...his bow hurts my ears when he shoots period..so i cant tell if some of it is that or not...not to mention, my luck the screws would back out or something...

never had trouble getting my release on...my current release i pull the trigger and the jaws open, relax it and the jaws close...i dont even have to look to hook up really. as soon as i hear deer or catch movement i hook up and stand up if im not standing.

if tied and tightened properly, they shouldnt move. mine never has...ive tied my own and had shops tie them...never had a problem with them moving...heck, i even took my nocks off and shoot with just a loop now...i did use a sharpie to mark the knots to see if it moved, and it hasnt and that loop been on since August..