Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

first time bowhunting ?

Old 10-19-2007, 01:48 PM
Spike

Default first time bowhunting ?

Well just starting out and havea few ?'s Looking for a harness, range finder, and do you all use lures, scents etc. One last thing, what about calls and are they easy to use... Any and all help/ suggestions will be greatly appreciated. (ie. what are good kinds and what should I use)
Old 10-19-2007, 03:31 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: first time bowhunting ?

Welcome. This is my first year also, so I can relate to what you're going through. Here's a list to try to answer some of your questions.
1. Harness - I'm just using the one that came with my Summit treestand. I hear great things about the Hunter Safety System and Gorilla vest style harnesses -- more comfortable, etc. They're fairly pricy, though. Just make sure you go with the full-body style.
2. Range Finder - I just bought a Bushnell Yardage Pro -- it's not the best out there, but for archery, I think it's fine since you're not really ranging stuff out to incredible distances as you would with a rifle
3. Lures - not using any so nothing to suggest
4. Scents - just some scent eliminator, it's the Silver XP brand. Seems to work well. I use a little fresh earth spray from time to time asa cover scent.
5. Detergent - I'd recommend the ATSKO brand which is available at the local Wal-Mart. Seems to do the trick.
6. Calls - I have Hunter's Speciaties TRU Talker grunt call (also available at Wal-Mart) -- I'd read pretty favorable reviews on it, but haven't tried it yet since it was still a little early

Hope that gives you a place to start. Good luck this season.
Old 10-21-2007, 08:04 AM
Spike