Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

broad head size

Old 10-01-2007, 09:04 PM
Spike

Default broad head size

Im new to bow hunting and will be shooting nap spitfires on my easton epic 340s. when i screwed them on the other day i noticed they are a little bigger aroundat the base than my arrow. I was wondering if this is alright or if they should look about like my field points at the base also i havent gotten time to shoot them yet and was wondering if it will make a difference in flight?
Old 10-01-2007, 09:12 PM

Default RE: broad head size

That shouldn't be a problem. Now fieldpoints on the other hand, they are sometimes a pain to get out of bag targets and such because of the bigger tip. Of course, you shouldn't be shooting expandables through a bag target. I wouldn't anyway.
Old 10-01-2007, 09:14 PM

Most all broadheads will require some bow tuning and massaging to fly like field points, even those that claim to fly like field points right out of the box generally need a slight adjustment or two from the bow to get the best flight out of them. I was told not to worry about the base of the broadhead being slightly larger. I would guess if it were opposite, arrow shaft being larger, this may be a problem due to aerodynamics and all that.
Old 10-01-2007, 09:16 PM
Giant Nontypical

I guess i'm not quite up to date with the technology bow hunting has gotten into but in my opinion i wouldn't be shooting them expandable broadheads! Anything mechanical leaves room for error. Just a thought for you to think about. Good luck and i hope someone can help you with this situation. It's good to see another bow hunter out here giving it a try! Good luck!
Old 10-01-2007, 09:17 PM

It will have no effect on flight at all. The only time it's really a problem is w/ field point removal from targets, especially bag targets. The ridge likes to get hung up ......