Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Taxidermy Tip......Preseason

Old 09-04-2007, 06:23 AM
Dominant Buck

Default Taxidermy Tip......Preseason

Don't take this the worng way.....I'm NO expert. That why I'm posting this. When I picked up mymount, yesterday.....he told me he had JUST enough cape to do the job.....when it came to the front legs.

I had 2 guys I "thought" were knowledgeable......giving me directions....but they both cut out long before I got to the front legs. I'll explain what my taxi told me as best I can.....BUT.....I suggest ANYONE wanting to have a deer mounted go and talk to a taxidermist before they begin the caping process. ANYONE with experience chime in.....and please correct me if I'm saying something wrong. Please.

The procedure my taxi told me......(in relation to the front legs)....was to cut the deer's legs off at the "knee"....and to basically "peel" the hide right through (roll it back and off the leg). I didn't do that.....and it almost cost my taxi some extra work (and me a nice mount). I gave him PLENTY of cape on the back (the whole hide). He appreciated that.....saying he could always throw it away.....but he couldn't make more. I wrapped the entire cape over the buck's head.....folded it up......and double bagged it. I also got it to the taxi in record time (1 day frozen)....so that he could assess the situation early.

If you're going to be spending that kind of money.....and you want it done right......don't be afraid to do your "interviewing" for your taxi, early. It might save you BOTH some hard feelings and it might make THE difference in your mount.

Good luck to all, this year.
Old 09-04-2007, 06:27 AM
Bartender

Default RE: Taxidermy Tip......Preseason

Jeff I always have the Taxidermy gent do this for me even though I was shown this in the past.

Old 09-04-2007, 07:26 AM