Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Corn & Trail Cams

Old 08-20-2007, 05:51 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default Corn & Trail Cams

I've got pics of geez like 12+ bucks this yearwith none beingjaw droppersand no fawns or does. Is this typical for a corn pile? I've never used corn before and i'm only using it for picture taking purposes. I have a Moultrie trail cam and it works good, if I can stop the deer but it doesn't trigger fast enough to just be usedon a trail ..they pass by, before it triggers.

I'm just amazed at the fact that the only pics I have are of Young Bucks.
I picked up my camera Saturday I had 66 pics on 33 triggers (set to take 2 pics 1 minute apart each trigger). This was after 4 days and the 40lbs of corn was all but gone!

I'll be posting some pics in my team thread..but photobucket seems down this morning.
Old 08-20-2007, 06:19 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Corn & Trail Cams

GR8, I have sometimes had to leave corn and a camera down for more than a week or2 before I saw any decent bucks if ANY. I can move my camera location(the ones Ive been posting pics of on our team thread) 200 yards, and not get many pics at all even after a week or 2 where right now I can get as many as 900 pics in 4 days.
Old 08-20-2007, 07:01 AM
Dominant Buck

Put out minerals for best chance at buck pics.

I had bucks on my minerals the day after I put them out, last year. I have a feeder about 70 yds away from the mineral site......and if I put out loose corn.....they could easily eat 50lbs a night. Right now....I'm on about 100lbs a week.
Old 08-20-2007, 07:03 AM
Giant Nontypical

Thats what I usually do Jeff..I Put out minerals this year..had 0 hits. That's when I decided to try corn in same spot.