Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Stabalizers?

Old 12-29-2002, 08:12 PM

Default Stabalizers?

hey guys... i live in ny so our archery season has long since ended and this year was my first. im 15 and just got my first quality bow. its a new martin phantom.. i have a huntmaster sight on it (like it allot), and a whisker bisquit. i just picked it up from the shop today and shot it at the indoor range. going to need allot of practice w/ this bow.. last season i shot everyday over the summer and was really comfortable shooting but my bow i was using was not fast and didnt get very good penatration at all. anyways.. im really happy w/ my bow.. i only have it set at 48 pounds but it is just as fast or faster than my dads hoyt set at 70 pounds. well i was just wondering if you guys could help me out with picking a quality stabalizer that isnt too heavy. i bought the x-changer by trophy ridge the other day but returned it because i thought it was too heavy.... im just looking for some suggestions.. thanks a lot

Marc
Old 12-29-2002, 09:52 PM

Default RE: Stabalizers?

its really personal preference...i personally like a heavy stabalizer. if you get the right combitation for your setup you'll find that a stabalizer not only helps you finish the shot it also steadys your bow arm during the shot.

also speed does not = penatration its a balance of speed and arrow weight. or...
Kinetic energy = mass x velocity squared/a constent
penatration = arrow weight x arrow speed squared/450240

here's a link to help you get the right combination for your setup

http://thunder.prohosting.com/~mfost...alculator.html

Edited by - nodose on 12/29/2002 22:54:32
Old 12-30-2002, 06:02 AM
Fork Horn

Do a search on this site for stealth stabilizers....I think you will find they come highly recommended!
www.stealtharchery.com
Old 12-30-2002, 08:49 AM
Nontypical Buck