Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

teaching a new archer...

Old 07-12-2007, 07:57 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default teaching a new archer...

i feel like for being self taught(and the help of you guys) that i became a decint shot with my bow in a relatively short time. i learned form and grip and consistancy and follow through etc etc.

last evening my buddy called me to tell me about the 3 buck he saw in one of my hunting spots and i told him i was just on my way out to BS..he said great you can ride to the bowshop with me.

i was stunned because he never showed intrest in bowhunting. his cousin bowhunts and i started last year. his cousin never wanted to listen to me and still wont...guess he thinks i dont know anything because i just started...but he still dont believe i can group broadheads and fieldpoints in the same group without changing sites...

but my buddy is fresh and new. im willing to work with him and teach him what i can. he didnt want to spend a whole lot of money because he dont know how much he will bowhunt, if at all...doesnt even know if he would like it. he gun hunted all his life though..

we got him a used PSE Nova. not sure how old...looked like it was in good shape...price made him happy..had a prong style rest, added some fiber optic 3 pin sights, peep, loop, and had it fitted for him. 57lb 26 or 27" draw. got him a half dozen gold tip 35/55 expedition hunters with blazers on them and got him shooting. i didnt wanna boggle his mind so i kinda let him do what felt natural...he probably shot 30 shots last evening. dont know how much he shot tonight, if at all.

how do i go about teaching him the ropes without seeming pushy/know it all/boggling his mind etc etc...but get him shooting good kinda quickly. i dont want him to get stuck in bad habits and not shoot well and not like it.