Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Colorado unit 25 archery elk hunt help needed

Old 07-10-2007, 05:08 PM

Default Colorado unit 25 archery elk hunt help needed

I have the oppurtunity to bow hunt Elk in unit 25 in Colorado either Sept 2-7 or the 18-23 the elevation would be ~9000 feet on property that borders Whiteriver National forest. This is my first time west so I don't really know anything about what to expectany and all input would be well appreciated. Some of my general questions are below.

Which season do you think would be best?

What weather should I expect at this elevation?

When do the elk start to rut in this elevation and location?

Are Elk even present here on a 1000 acre ranch after either 1 or three groups have hunted it?

What would be the best way to hunt? ie still, stalk, call?

What should I expect in general?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Feel free to email me.

Thanks,
Fred Hicks
[email protected]

Old 07-10-2007, 06:04 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Colorado unit 25 archery elk hunt help needed