Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

IMPROVE YOUR SHOOTING SKILLS... NEW OR A VETERAN

Old 06-14-2007, 06:02 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default IMPROVE YOUR SHOOTING SKILLS... NEW OR A VETERAN

Found this and decided to share as well as added some new stuff that I have read to boot:

Improve Your Shooting Skills

So many bow hunters learn to shoot the same way as I did, by trail and error. The results are, bad habits that will effect your effectiveness on your game. The first six months I started shooting, I knew nothing about shooting a bow.

After working and training with a well known coach, I began to learn what form and accuracy was all about. Leaning to shoot correctly from the beginning, or improve your shooting skills if you have been shooting for some time now, you will stand a much better chance come deer season.

Weather you are shooting 3-D or hunting, be sure to shoot a lot. Your physical abilities are going to fluctuate. Every one has good days and bad days, even good seasons and bad seasons. The key to success is never give up on yourself.

Don’t be afraid to rein your shots if you aren’t as accurate as usual. Shoot a lot so you can keep a handle on your maximum shooting distance and work on building your accuracy and confidence from there. The best way to start is to double check your shooting form.

Inconsistent form will always lead to poor accuracy. Good form must include a consistent follow through with each shot until after the arrow has left the bow. Below you will find some helpful tips on things to watch for during practice. Remember practice makes perfect, and learning to shoot the right way will help you get there.