Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

New to Archery

Old 06-14-2007, 08:18 AM
Fork Horn

Default New to Archery

Hey guys,

So I have to start by saying this website (and this forum in particular) is awesome. I decided I would finally post after reading tons. I am new to bow hunting (have been gun hunting for a few years mostly moose deer and bear) and need some advice.I want to extend my season so a bow seems to be the next step.Where do you guys who live in the big city's go to practice? I am in the suburbs of Toronto and there is not room in my backyard to go shoot everyday not to mention that the neighbours would probably have the police at our door as the arrows flew into there yards. I don't want to buy a bow then only shoot it a couple of times and start hunting with it as I don't think its fair to the game I would be hunting. Thanks in advance for the tips. The next question is of course what bow to go buy and all the other stuff I need but I know what kind of debates that question can start!! I will just go read some old posts !

Thanks
Old 06-14-2007, 08:25 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: New to Archery

Well you come from a place with great hunting(Canada)

Just ask and you will for sure get some anwsers

Do you have a hunting club near by?
Old 06-14-2007, 08:30 AM
Fork Horn

Thanks! The hunting is awesome up here. Not that I know of for a close by club (but i will look around and see if I can find something) . I do have some friends not too far away where I hunt but its about a 2 hour drive each way. A little long to just go for some shooting after work. The local rod and gun clob had its shooting ranges/bow course closed so they could run a Hwy through there backyard!! Way too many liberal's in the city!!!!
Old 06-14-2007, 08:43 AM
Giant Nontypical