Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

How to age deer? Can you do it effectively? I Just Don't Care?

Old 06-08-2007, 07:34 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default How to age deer? Can you do it effectively? I Just Don't Care?

Little poll and some helpful pictures on how toidentify different age classes of whitetail deer.

http://www.huntingnet.com/forum/tm.aspx?m=2155212
Old 06-08-2007, 07:37 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: How to age deer? Can you do it effectively? I Just Don't Care?

Honestly, as far as I am concerned, it is very difficult to age a deer exactly, even with the jaw bone. Depending on diet, the teeth can wear differently, and so a 4 year old in lush farm country has the teeth of a 2 or 3 year old in harsh country. The black strips on the teeth are the best indicators to me, but I am no expert. The belly sag thing for on hoof is a good indicator, but again, it really is a guess on hoof of +/-1 year IMO.
Old 06-08-2007, 07:44 AM
Dominant Buck

Also....after 3 to 4.5.....I couldn't hazard a guess.I haven't had much experience with deer that age (almost none).....and it absolutely makes me laugh when I see the guys on TV saying their deer is a 6.5 yr old when they're posing for photos with it (assuming they don't have trail cam photos of the deer from day 1).

I also find it mildly amusing when people are trying to educate me RE: deer and they refer to "horns".
Old 06-08-2007, 07:51 AM
Nontypical Buck

I know, some of these high class hunters on TV will say horns instead of antlers and sometimes it just makes me wonder if they are all that experienced.
Old 06-08-2007, 07:52 AM
Nontypical Buck

Aging deer is an art but the average hunter only needs to know what a yearling buck and a 2 1/2 year old looks like because they'll shoot anythinglarger on sight. I just wish more folks would learn to identify atleast immature bucks and learn to pass on 'em.