Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

This fall will be a learning experience

Old 05-31-2007, 03:53 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default This fall will be a learning experience

As some of you know Im a student at WKU in W. KY. Well, today I get a call and find out that my room mate and I lost our 180 acre farm in Benton. We really put alot of hard work in on this parcel with food plots, scouting, and QDM over the last 3 years, and the place was really looking promising with some bruiser bucks this fall. My dad has a good lease near his house, about an hour east of Louisville, which is a solid 5 hour drive fore me from campus. So it looks like Im gona have to bite the bullet and hunt public land this fall. I bought a new GPS today and already downloaded some maps of nearby WMAs and printed them off with laminant. I have never hunted on public land before, so this will be a learning experience for me. I've got my work cut out for me, but I think I will come out of this season as a better bowhunter. Its not September yet, so I still might stumble upon another lease, but things are looking pretty grim right now..
Old 05-31-2007, 04:04 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: This fall will be a learning experience

That tough man...ones things for sure though, you will be a much better hunter if you are forced to hunt public land. I would go around door-to-door asking people for permission. I did it when i went to MU and got several hundred acres to hunt....its better then nothing!

Good luck!
Old 05-31-2007, 05:10 PM
Nontypical Buck

Sry to hear that, hopefully you can pull one out. But, public hunting will allow you to learn alot for when you get some land to yourself.
Old 05-31-2007, 06:10 PM
Fork Horn

ORIGINAL: MichaelHunsucker