Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Bowhunter looking for the best out there !

Old 05-20-2007, 01:29 AM

Default Bowhunter looking for the best out there !

Hi guys,

I'm new to the sport, but I would like to get me a nice bow that I can take hunting this year. I don't know much about bows, and there are so many out there, so its kind of hard for a begginer to pick and choose and not make a mistake. I've read a bit about bows and I've seen that most popular are hoyt, mathews and pse I think.

Anyways, to make a long story short, I don't wanna buy something cheap now and then later to have to spend more money getting a good thing. Working with a budget of about thousand bucks, so help me out to get the best thing for the money.

Thanks
Old 05-20-2007, 02:50 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Bowhunter looking for the best out there !

I would suggest going to a pro shop and shoot all the bows you mentioned but add Bowtec to the equation. I hope your pro shop is a good one so you don't make a $1000 mistake.Where do you live? Others might be able to help you with a shop once weknow where your from.You might be better of with a cheaper bow to start with for your 1st hunting season and elevate up the following year.
Old 05-20-2007, 04:43 AM
Nontypical Buck

I agree with Rick,the support you get from a quality Pro shop will be more important than which particular manufacturer's bow you buy.Any of those four companies bow's are quality.
My own opinion is that I wouldn't go top of the line right away,I would want to make sure I enjoy it before devoting big dollars to it.I would also suggest to you that you get a bow that is easier to shoot ie. relatively long axle to axle and a high brace height,smoother cam configuration.You need to have excellent form before being able to shoot the more critical speed bows consistently well.