Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Bowhunting turkeys and calling question

Old 04-26-2007, 09:02 AM
Dominant Buck

Default Bowhunting turkeys and calling question

I know we hear guys say to call sparingly at times.....but I'm wondering what the definition of "sparingly" is to you guys who are seasoned.

I hear a lot of gobbling in the AM's, usually.....and get the occasional answer. if it's evident he's NOT coming (at least, vocally).....how long between sequences do YOU wait?

My thinking is.....he already knows where I am.....and if he's with hens at that time....MY actions are moot. "MY" thinking is....I just want to "reiterate" my position.....say every 15 minutes, or so.

Too often? Too sparingly?

My "opinion" (and I'm a calling novice) is.....the more vocal "I" (the hen)am.....the more he likely thinks I'm going to come and join HIM.
Old 04-26-2007, 09:38 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Bowhunting turkeys and calling question