Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

what do you sight your bow in at?

Old 04-09-2007, 08:07 PM

Default what do you sight your bow in at?

Im getting a bow tomorrow and I dont know what I should sight it to? I'm just learning so you will a lot of me here for the next while
Old 04-09-2007, 08:28 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: what do you sight your bow in at?

Are you getting a new bow. If so the pro shop should spend soe time with you and get you all set up.
Old 04-09-2007, 08:38 PM
Giant Nontypical

dont hesitate to ask questions...alot of old hands around here that can and will answer...

if this is your first bow i can tell ya its gunna take you a bit to shoot consistantly. i really wish i woulda paid for shooting lessons from an expert. the first week or so i practiced at 10 and 15yds. every day my form changed and so did my groups. i moved my sights every day..honestly. then i learned more about GOOD form and REPEATING GOOD form. that seemed impossible for a while....but once i got it all down pat i was able to finally shoot consistant groups in the bullseye every day all the time. i set my top pin at 15yds. then i worked on 25 AFTER i had good consistant form. set the next pin at 25. mastered 25 and then mastered 35 and shoot out to 40. thats all my backyard allows and thats all the farther ive gotten to shoot so far.

if you have a good shop i dont think it can hurt to pay for lessons for an hour or so...learn good form and how to shoot and learn to repeat that GOOD form. if youy buying a new bow from the shop they SHOULD set it all up and tune it all etc...