Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Feathers or Vanes

Old 03-23-2007, 04:24 PM

Default Feathers or Vanes

Which one you like and what kind it is. I'm just starting out and I would like to know what is better. I heard that feathers are more forgiving and weigh less but wilter when wet. Also that vanes are heavier and less forgiving but cheaper your thoughts would be appreciated
Old 03-23-2007, 05:43 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Feathers or Vanes

I always used feathers.I buy full-length feathers by the 100 for about $35 and I can get 2 4" fletchings from each full-length.I waterproof my fletchings if I know I'll be hunting in wet weather.
Old 03-23-2007, 06:09 PM
Fork Horn

I used vanes switched to feathers and now back to vanes .
Archery is all about personal preference compound /recurve . aluminum /carbon. release/fingers .as long as things are matched they all will preform great
Old 03-23-2007, 07:54 PM

Feathers are the bomb....they work very well, are indeed light weight, and they look really cool! Feathers are also much more forgiving of contact with anything, they merely collapse upon the contact and bounce back to shape after....And they don't kick the arrow around when they straighten back out.

BUT, vanes have their advantages as well. The new Blazer vanes stabilize just as good, and weigh ALMOST as little as feathers. Unless I'm mistaken, which has happened here before, 5" feathers weigh 3 grains/each....Blazers are 5/each....The BIGGEST advantage is wet weather. Feathers don't like to be wet...Yes, there are precautions you can take, but me, I just use Blazers and forget about it.
Old 03-23-2007, 07:57 PM
Typical Buck

I did the same as Steve. This year Ill be using quikspin speed hunters. I like feathers, but I dont care for the worry about the weather and I dont like how you have to refletch after a harvest.
Old 03-23-2007, 08:23 PM