Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

diff. between jake and tom???

Old 03-17-2007, 08:46 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default diff. between jake and tom???

how do i tell the differnce between a male and female turkey???

this is my first time turkey hunting nad im hunting on my friends land and my deer hunting area. so any help would be ablidged
Old 03-17-2007, 08:52 PM

Default RE: diff. between jake and tom???

Tom's have beards, but be careful there, I've seen many bearded hens in my day as well. Toms have red, white and blue heads and strut and gobble, hens don't. Well, I've seen hens kind of strut, but it's a dominance move, not a display move. Toms are a lot darker black than hens, hens are more of a brown....Toms are typically larger as well.

You can tell a jake from an adult tom when they strut. Thejake will have 2 or 3 tail feathers in the center of the fan taller than the rest. Adult tom's will have even fans.
Old 03-17-2007, 08:54 PM

Male and female turkeys are easily indentifiable from one another. A male turkey's head will be either blue or red or a combination of the two. A hen, or female turkey's head will be a dull grey or brown. Male turkeys also have beards and spurs, hens [most often] do not. Occasionally a hen will have a beard, but in most states a beared bird [regardless of gender] is legal.

A jake's fan will have a few feathers in the middle of the fan that are slightly taller than the rest. When a bird is in full strut you'll notice a difference between a jake and a tom.
Old 03-17-2007, 10:52 PM
Nontypical Buck

Wow...........i have never seen a turkey with some colors like that one on the right before.
Old 03-17-2007, 11:44 PM
Giant Nontypical

heres a bearded hen

Old 03-18-2007, 12:19 AM

ORIGINAL: Bullet Hole Bailey

Wow...........i have never seen a turkey with some colors like that one on the right before.